Tuesday, September 25, 2007

Do do do do do doooooo

The High Water Marks - Polar album review

It’s been three years since The High Water Marks’ debut album Songs About The Ocean was released; at long last the follow up, Polar, is finally here. The disc is 13 tracks long and is being brought to you by Athens, GA label Happy Happy Birthday To Me Records.

Anyone who has ever heard the band before knows what they’re all about, the hook-laden, guitar-driven, bouncy pop tune. Polar delivers all that and more.

The fact that all four of the band members were involved in the recording process adds an obvious dynamic in the songs that some on SATO seemed to be missing. Per Ole Bratset and Hilarie Sidney both seem more comfortable in their singing here than ever before, regardless of which of them is taking the lead. Check “Galaxy Galaxy Galaxy” for a wonderful example of a pop band at their best, with everyone shining.

While Polar is ultimately following in the footsteps of its predecessor, it is also breaking a lot of new ground for the band with the slicker, more hi-fi recordings, and further incorporation of delightful alternative instruments.

Check out the band's myspace page for a preview of the title track and pick up your own copy of Polar at hhbtm.com.

1. Polar
2. The Leaves
3. Early Fall
4. Song For Emigrants
5. Simple
6. Galaxy Galaxy Galaxy
7. Finding Clovers
8. Dutch Tape
9. Roadside Revival
10. Poison Remedy
11. For Sirkel
12. Sirkel
13. Etter Sirkel

No comments: